Little Known Box September 2016

One of the greatest things about subscription boxes is trying out things that you wouldn’t have picked for yourself and LOVING them. That’s what happened with a few of the products in this month’s Little Known Box! There were a couple of items I would have normally dodged but I ended up being obsessed with!

For only £15 per month, Little Known Box brings you a variety of full-sized and deluxe-sized products ranging from skincare to hair, nails, beauty and more! It offers variety, undiscovered brands and great new products. See last month’s box here to see how fab it is for yourself!

little-known-box-september-2016

This month’s theme was Face Firsts, containing the perfect mix of products to have you looking fabulous and glam for the autumn as well as looking amazing without makeup!

peeks-cosmetics-matte-lipstick-in-quik-sand

Peeks Cosmetics Matte Lipstick in Quik SandRRP $12

This time of year, matte lips are all the rage. But, if you have dry or sensitive lips, a liquid matte lipstick is a no-go. A more comfortable option is a traditional matte lipstick. The matte lipsticks from Peeks are even infused with Vitamin E to give your lips a boost of moisture, while still letting you rock the matte lip trend. When I put this on, I was surprised by how smooth, creamy and pigmented it was! One swipe over the lips and hey were done. No need to line, no need to do multiple layers. I was so impressed! It lasted on my lips so well too, I only needed to reapply after I’d eaten, which is pretty impressive for a traditional lippie.

peeks-matte-lipstick-in-quik-sand-lip-swatch
Peeks Quik Sand on my lips

The colour Quik Sand is probably one I would have never bought, but once it was on my face, I was feeling it. It’s the exact colour of milk chocolate (my camera does it no justice) and it just made me feel instantly autumnal and fabulous. It’s be an amazing nude on deep skintones. Because it’s more of a neutral shade, it looked amazing with every single eye look I tried it with, from neutral and simple to bright and wacky. New autumn favourite!

lash-unlimited-strip-lashes-7

Lash Unlimited Strip Lashes in #7 – RRP £2.50

When you think low-cost false lashes, you probably imagine really shiny, plastic looking lashes in unflattering cuts on thick clunky bands. I know I do. So, I was really pleasantly surprised when I took out the Lash Unlimited #7s and found that they were incredible quality. The band is really thin, clear and flexible, which meant that they were really easy to put on and I say that as someone who generally struggles with falsies. The lashes are really thin and wispy and they have a matte finish, which is always more natural looking.

 

lash-unlimited-strip-lashes-7-on-the-eye
The Lash Unlimited #7 on my eye

I really enjoy the cut of these lashes. While they are long and wispy, they’re not ridiculously long. I love that they’re longer at the outer corner too, it helps to elongate the eye and give it a more feline shape. My favourite thing about the wispiness of these lashes is that there’s plenty of space to see your eyeshadow look through it. I wasn’t a huge lash fan before, but I’ve been converted. I already ordered 10 pairs in a variety of styles!

You can get 3 pairs of lashes for £6 using the code 3PAIRS or 5 pairs for £9 using the code 5PAIRS at lashunlimited.com

nanshy-4-in-1-marvel-blender

Nanshy 4-in-1 Marvel BlenderRRP £5.95

This is a product I already know I love! I got one of these a while ago and it soon became my favourite way to apply foundation and blend out cream products. I have my initial review here. The shape of it makes it easy to handle and the pointed tip allows you to get right into all the small areas of your face like the corners of the nose and inner corner of the eye. I recently had to get rid of mine as it was really old and beat up and the sponge I got to replace it just isn’t cutting it. So I’m thrilled to have a new one, I started using it immediately!

siskyn-frankincense-jasmine-night-facial-oil

Siskyn Frankicense & Jasmine Night Facial Oil (10ml Rollerball)RRP £12

If you’ve been here for a while, you’ll know that I’m a big facial oil fan. They’re great for adding hydration to your skin without being too heavy. This oil from Siskyn is for all skin-types and is supposed to be good for balancing acne-prone skin. I’ve been using this for about a week now and I’ve noticed that my skin looks even and brightened and it’s hydrated without being oily. The packaging is genius too – it allows me to apply it specifically to the areas I want to target and I never use too much. You can smell the frankincense and jasmine in the oil, which is a good sign that the ingredients are potent and really making a difference. If you’re looking for a good facial oil, this one is a good place to start.

You can use the code LKB20 for 20% off at siskyn.co.uk Expires 31/0/16

epic-blend-vegan-lip-balm-in-peach

Epic Blend Vegan Lip Balm in PeachRRP $3.49

 

This lip balm is very thin and lightweight but still nourishes the lips, so if you’re someone who doesn’t like the feeling of a balm on your lips, this might be the one for you. The Epic Blend lip balms come in 16 different flavours, so you’re sure to find one you like. The peach one smells like peach flavoured sweets, but has a strange taste that I can’t decide if I like or not. As a lip balm, and not a snack, it does the job really well. I like applying it as I do my makeup to prep my lips for lipstick.

We’ve reached the end of September’s Little Known Box. It was full of surprises for me, I found myself loving things I never expected to! and it was nice to be reminded of the beauty sponge I love. I can’t pick a favourite product this month, there are too many contenders! What’s your top item from this box? I’d love to know.

October’s Little Known Box will be their extra special 6-month edition with bonus products, so if you’ve been considering it, now would be a great time to sign up!

See you next time!

*Box received as PR. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

3 thoughts on “Little Known Box September 2016

  1. It’s so good to hear about the best case scenario with beauty boxes – discovering gems that you wouldn’t have otherwise given a second glance!
    That Peeks lipstick looks amazing!!! The colour looks odd but it just works, you know?
    Can’t believe how inexpensive those lashes are – they look really high quality especially with the invisible looking band. Looks like it would be fairly comfortable to wear too.

    Like

    1. It does seem hard to find a good box, but once you find your perfect box, it’s such a joy every month!
      I’ve been a braver with unusual lip colours lately – browns and greys – and I’ve been loving it!
      Honestly, those are the best lashes I’ve ever used. I used to dread putting on lashes, but I actually like these. It’s a miracle!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

